Telono's company logo

Design Thinking refocuses your project on humans

Design Thinking is a collaborative method of innovation. Based on empathy towards users or final clients, it optimizes their experience. The collected objective data on your targeted audience favorizes the creation of ideas. Next is the prototype. It is updated depending on the feedbacks of our testers with a qualified profile. It determines a basis for a pertinent product or service.

Simple definition of Design Thinking

Design Thinking, literally “think design”, is not a recent concept. It was invented in the second half of the 20th century in California. Rolfe Faste, Jakob Nielsen, Don Norman, Tim Brown and Jeremy Gutsche are the best-known representative of Design Thinking. The goal of this method that is also a state of mind, is to consolidate innovation. Structured in steps, it relies on workshops of co-creation and of the norm “Conception centered on the human operator for interactive systems” ISO 9241-210. A created prototype and tested. According to the testers with a qualified profile, it is upgraded to deliver a more realistic solution.

Steps of Design Thinking: from empathy to innovation

Design Thinking allows you of an innovative and applicable solution. Its method is iterative and follows, according to the versions, 3 to 7 steps. The principles are empathy (UX research), the definition (UX strategy), creation of idea, prototype realization (UX design) and the test (UX evaluation). Tim Brown, CEO of IDEO, condenses it in 3 phases:

  1. Inspiration;
  2. Imagination;
  3. Implementation.

The comprehension of the personas allows the generation of ideas to put in place a pertinent project.

But how to transit from the generation of ideas to the one that will stick? We must iterate, meaning start over until total satisfaction of your targeted audience. Prototype with a low cost and low definition will allow you to multiply tests rapidly. The tester’s profile corresponds to the final users. A solution is born from improvement. It answers as Tim Brown would say:

  • desirability (the needs and wants of the final users);
  • feasibility (the technological possibilities);
  • viability (business exigence).

Innovation is found at a crossroad of people, technology, and business.

Start well a project thanks to empathy

The base of this innovative method is empathy. Prior any project, Telono makes a UX research dedicated to comprehending your personas. This observation of users in their environment resembles to ethnographic studies. Real field studies, they bring objective data on behaviors and utilization context. The knowledge of needs and wants of your targeted audience is fundamental. It allows the conception of a product or a service on a concrete basis.

When to use Design Thinking?

This way of doing is particularly efficient in the initial phase of the development. It allows the launch of a project on solid grounds. It limits the errors and the risks of rejection by the users or final clients. It manages the risks of overspending. The thought of integrated design allows a company to:

  • reorganize the work based on a multidisciplinary approach;
  • valorize the analytical competences and intuitiveness of each collaborator;
  • structure the brainstorming to make them more efficient;
  • favorize the emergence of innovative ideas.

The structures are not always ready for a change like this. If you are interested in this approach, Telono can help you promote UX in your company.

Design Thinking is an end-user centred method. Empathising with them and iterating are part of this way of thinking. The approach is particularly effective for launching or renewing a product or service. Structured in stages, the duration of this approach depends on the nature of the project. For a condensed version, you should look at the 4-day Design Sprint format.

Happy users, better business since 2005:

fbpx ...

Le Design Thinking recentre votre projet sur l'humain

Le Design Thinking est une méthode d’innovation collaborative. Basée sur l’empathie envers les utilisateurs ou clients finaux, elle optimise leur expérience. Les données objectives collectées sur le public cible de votre projet favorisent la génération d’idées. S’ensuit la réalisation d’un prototype. Il est amélioré selon les retours de nos testeurs aux profils qualifiés. Il pose les bases d’un produit ou service pertinent.

""

Définition simple du Design Thinking

Le Design Thinking, littéralement « pensée design », n’est pas un concept récent. Il a été inventé dans la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle en Californie. Rolfe Faste, Jakob Nielsen, Don Norman, Tim Brown et Jeremy Gutsche en sont les représentants les plus célèbres. Le but de cette méthode, qui est aussi un état d’esprit, est de consolider l’innovation. Structurée en étapes, elle repose sur des ateliers de co-création et la norme « Conception centrée sur l’opérateur humain pour les systèmes interactifs » ISO 9241-210. Un prototype est réalisé puis testé. Selon les retours des testeurs aux profils qualifiés, il est amélioré pour délivrer une solution réaliste. 

Étapes du Design Thinking : de l’empathie à l’innovation

La pensée design permet de dégager une solution innovante et applicable. Sa méthode est itérative et suit, selon les versions, 3 à 7 étapes. Les principales sont l’empathie (recherche UX), la définition (stratégie UX), l’idéation, la réalisation de prototype (UX design) et le test (évaluation UX). Tim Brown, CEO d’IDEO, les condense en trois phases :

  1. Inspiration;
  2. Imagination;
  3. Implémentation.

Autrement dit, la compréhension des personae, de leurs besoins et des contextes d’usage favorise la génération d’idées. L’ensemble permet la mise en place d’un projet pertinent.

Mais comment passer de la génération d’idées à celle qui sera retenue ? Il faut itérer, c’est-à-dire recommencer jusqu’à satisfaction du public cible. Le recours au prototype basse définition de faible coût permet de multiplier les tests rapidement. Le profil des testeurs correspond à celui des utilisateurs finaux. Une solution naît des améliorations. Elle répond, comme le résume Tim Brown, à la :

•  désirabilité (les besoins et attentes des utilisateurs finaux) ; 

•  faisabilité (les possibilités technologiques) ;

• viabilité (les exigences business). 

L’innovation se trouve donc à la croisée des personnes, de la technologie et du business.

Bien démarrer un projet grâce à l’empathie

Le socle de cette méthode d’innovation est l’empathie. En amont de tout projet, Telono effectue une recherche UX dédiée à la compréhension de vos personae. Cette observation des utilisateurs dans leur environnement s’apparente à des études ethnographiques. Véritables analyses de terrain, elles apportent des données objectives sur les comportements et le contexte d’utilisation. La connaissance des attentes et des usages du public cible est fondamentale. Elle permet de démarrer la conception d’un produit ou d’un service sur des bases concrètes.

Quand utiliser le Design Thinking ?

Cette démarche est particulièrement efficace en phase initiale de développement. Elle permet de lancer un projet sur des bases solides. Elle limite les erreurs et les risques de rejet des utilisateurs ou clients finaux. Elle gère les risques de dépassement budgétaire. Au-delà du cadre précis d’un projet, la pensée design intégrée à une entreprise permet de :

• réorganiser le travail selon une approche pluridisciplinaire, en cassant les silos ;
• valoriser les compétences analytiques et intuitives de chaque collaborateur ;
• structurer les brainstormings pour les rendre efficaces ;
• favoriser l’émergence d’idées innovantes.

Les structures ne sont parfois pas encore prêtes à amorcer un tel changement. Si cette démarche vous intéresse, Telono peut vous aider à promouvoir l’UX au sein de votre entreprise.

 

 

Le Design Thinking est une méthode centrée sur les utilisateurs finaux. Faire preuve d’empathie envers eux et itérer sont constitutif de cette manière de penser. La démarche est particulièrement efficace pour lancer ou renouveler un produit comme un service. Structurée en étapes, la durée de cette approche dépend de la nature du projet. Pour une version condensée, il faudra vous tourner vers le format en 4 jours du Design Sprint.

Depuis 2005, plus de 320 projets UX réalisés.